I’m a huge fan of using inspiration, idea/goal boards. I think they are a beautiful way to keep your goals and inspiration ever at the front of our minds.

Since I don’t have an office, my desk sits against a wall in a hybrid hallway that open to the living room, and so I wanted to create a beautiful and simple way to display my ideas, to do lists, goals, and things that inspire me. But I also want the area to have it’s own feel since it’s my workspace.
20130711-144323.jpg
Want to make your own wall of inspiration? Follow along below!

MATERIALS:
Staple gun with 6mm staples
Four 12×12 squares of cork board
Four 13×13 squares of fabric (depending on the thickness of your boards, you may need more than an extra inch all the way around)
Four picture hangers and screws
Screw driver
Scissors

I started with a 4 pack of 12×12 cork boards. Then I selected fabric that matched my living room enough not to clash, but is also different enough to give the area it’s own feeling. I decided to use only two colors, but another great idea would be to use four different fabrics.
20130609-161408.jpg
20130609-161425.jpg
I cut 13×13 squares out of the fabric. I made three from the light color and one from the darker charcoal color.

To start attaching the fabric to the board, I placed the fabric face down and the cork board down in the middle with at least an inch of fabric showing all the way around.

Using the staple gun, fold the fabric over the cork board and staple once in the middle. (I was working on a carpeted floor, so I placed a piece of board under where I stapled for support.) Then do the same thing to the opposite side pulling the fabric gently to make sure it will lie flat in the front.
20130609-174133.jpg
Now repeat on the two remaining sides, so that your piece looks like the one below.
20130609-174157.jpg
Now working from the center staple on each side, fold and pull the fabric down and place another staple in between the center one and the corner. Repeat on each side of the board. Now you have three staples on each side.
20130609-174205.jpg
Now to tackle the corner. Take a pair of scissors and cut a square out, to look like the second image below.
20130609-174213.jpg
20130609-174229.jpg
Now, fold one side over holding the fabric taught, but not too tightly. Then fold the other fabric over and put one staple in the corner. Repeat for the other three corners.
20130609-174348.jpg
Now, how to hang them on the wall. Eventually I hope to find and up-cycle some decorative frames, but until then, I took some tooth hangers off of picture frames that I have standing. You could buy some at a craft or hardware store, but it’s always awesome to use the opportunity to reuse/repurpose something!
20130609-174427.jpg
To attach them, simply measure to the middle of side, place the piece and screw in.
20130609-174434.jpg
Now the fun part! Hang them up and start pinning inspiration, to do lists, special quotes and phrases, and anything else that inspires you!
20130609-180006.jpg
Need more space to pin? I took an old picture I was given, painted the frame and covered cardboard in fabric to match. I’m upswing it for my home study course.
20130711-144604.jpg
I also made a pretty little paper pocket to hold study materials. X-)
20130711-144714.jpg
So what do you think? How do you keep inspiration and to do lists present in your mind?

Leave a Reply

